Kiran Mazumdar Shaw honored with H.K. Firodia Lifetime Achievement Award 2022

The selection committee unanimously decided to confer the award on the Biocon chief for her monumental contributions as a global leader in biotechnology innovation and entrepreneurship

Bengaluru: Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, Executive Chairperson of Biocon and Biocon Biologics has been awarded the H.K. Firodia Lifetime Achievement Award 2022 for Excellence in Science & Technology by the H.K. Firodia Memorial Foundation on the 25th anniversary of the award.
The H.K. Firodia Awards Selection Committee unanimously decided to confer the Lifetime Achievement Award to Mazumdar-Shaw for her monumental contributions as a global leader in biotechnology innovation and entrepreneurship.
On receiving the award, Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw said: “I feel extremely privileged and humbled to be recognised for my lifetime efforts in building Biocon to be a responsible and empathetic biotech company that is driven by the purpose of delivering affordable access to essential medicines. As a scientist, I was inspired by the vision of creating an organisation that leverages science & technology to widen access to lifesaving drugs for patients on the lowest rung of the economic ladder. It is through our philosophy of affordable innovation that we have been able to make a difference to global health equity by ensuring that no patient anywhere in the world is denied essential and lifesaving biologic drugs on account of affordability.”
As the chief guest at the awards ceremony held in Pune, Ms Mazumdar-Shaw felicitated two more leading women in science. She presented the H.K. Firodia Vijnan Ratna Award to Dr Gagandeep Kang, eminent virologist and Professor of Microbiology in the Department of Gastrointestinal Sciences at the Christian Medical College (CMC) in Vellore; and the H.K. Firodia Vijnan Bhushan Award to Dr. Tessy Thomas, distinguished scientist and Director General, Aeronautical Systems, Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO).
The Awards Selection Committee comprised of distinguished personalities like Dr. R.A. Mashelkar, Dr. Anil Kakodkar and Dr. Vijay Bhatkar.
The H.K. Firodia Award was instituted in 1996 in memory of the Late H.K. Firodia, who is considered the doyen of the Indian automobile industry. The awards are given to eminent Indian scientists for their original and world-class contributions to any branch of science or technology. Former Indian President Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam was the first recipient of this award in 1996. Previous recipients of the H.K. Firodia Award include some of the most illustrious names in the field of Science & Technology in India, including Dr. M. K. Bhan, Dr. K. Vijay Raghavan, Dr. R. A. Mashelkar, Dr. Jayant Narlikar, Prof. C.N.R. Rao, Dr. K. Kasturirangan among others.